Shop - FASTER : How A Jewish Driver, An American Heiress, And A Legendary Car Beat Hitler’s Best

View All Photos
Neal Bascomb – FASTER : How A Jewish Driver, An American Heiress, And A Legendary Car Beat Hitler’s Best
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO
oznorCO

FASTER : How A Jewish Driver, An American Heiress, And A Legendary Car Beat Hitler’s Best

Neal Boscomb
LIKE NEW, PAPERBACK

RM20.00

The True Story Of René Dreyfus, A Jewish Driver & Lucy Schell, An American Heiress Who Teamed Up To Beat Nazis In Car Race

Remarks Free Cover-Pages Wrapping
ISBN 9780358508120
Book Condition LIKE NEW
Format PAPERBACK
Publisher Mariner Books
Publication Date 04 May 2021
Pages 368
Weight 0.37 kg
Dimension 20.5 × 13.5 × 3 cm
Retail Price RM87.67
Availability: 1 in stock

Additional information

1 in stock

SHARE:
  • Detail Description

Description

★★ Winner of the Motor Press Guild Best Book of the Year Award & Dean Batchelor Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism ★★
 
For fans of The Boys in the Boat and In the Garden of Beasts, a pulse-pounding tale of triumph by an improbable team of upstarts over Hitler’s fearsome Silver Arrows during the golden age of auto racing.
 
The book begins with a brief history of auto racing, casting it as a gentleman’s sport that pit the best drivers against each other, though after the races, the same drivers would meet at the bar for drinks and revelry. As the sport shifted, it cast nation against nation, and by the late 1930s, Grand Prix racing was no longer a gentleman’s sport: it was a sport on which national pride hung.
 
It tells the thrilling true story of the 1938 Pau Grand Prix, a motor race that took place in France just months before the outbreak of World War II. The book revolves around three central characters: René Dreyfus, a Jewish driver from France, Lucy Schell, an American heiress and racing enthusiast, and the legendary Mercedes-Benz racing car. At a time when Adolf Hitler’s Nazi regime was rising in power, the Pau Grand Prix became a symbolic battle between German engineering and French resistance.
 
“Faster” chronicles the team’s rise to prominence, culminating in a remarkable race at the 1938 French Grand Prix. Dreyfus led the race for much of the day, but was eventually passed by the German driver Rudolf Caracciola. In the final laps, Dreyfus made a daring move to pass Caracciola, but crashed into a barrier. Despite the crash, Dreyfus finished second, behind Caracciola.


They were the unlikeliest of heroes. Rene Dreyfus, a former top driver on the international racecar circuit, had been banned from the best European teams—and fastest cars—by the mid-1930s because of his Jewish heritage. Charles Weiffenbach, head of the down-on-its-luck automaker Delahaye, was desperately trying to save his company as the world teetered toward the brink. And Lucy Schell, the adventurous daughter of an American multi-millionaire, yearned to reclaim the glory of her rally-driving days.
 
René Dreyfus, facing increasing persecution as a Jew in Nazi Germany, finds himself on the verge of quitting racing. However, Lucy Schell, impressed by Dreyfus’s skills and determined to fight against Hitler’s influence, forms a team to challenge the dominant German racing team, led by the famous driver, Rudolf Caracciola.
 
The book’s title, Faster, refers to Dreyfus’s driving style. He was known for his aggressive and fearless approach, which often put him at risk of crashing. However, his speed and skill allowed him to overcome the odds and achieve success.
 
During this golden age of auto racing, Hitler decided to use Germany’s racing teams as a propaganda tool. By winning the Grand Prix, he believed he would show the world the superiority of all things German. He threw the weight of the German government behind the Mercedes and Auto Union car companies; Germany soon became the dominant force in Grand Prix racing.
 
At the 1938 Pau Grand Prix, though, Renè Dreyfus struck a blow against German national pride. His win against all odds was seen as a victory for those oppressed by Hitler: the “Pau might not change the tides of nations, but it could spark hope in a world darkening at every turn.”
 
As Nazi Germany launched its campaign of racial terror and pushed the world toward war, these three misfits banded together to challenge Hitler’s dominance at the apex of motorsport: the Grand Prix. Their quest for redemption culminated in a remarkable race that is still talked about in racing circles to this day—but which, soon after it ended, Hitler attempted to completely erase from history.
 
“Faster” chronicles the intense competition, political tensions, and personal struggles that surround the 1938 Pau Grand Prix. The book explores the backdrop of pre-World War II Europe and the clash between two ideologies through the lens of motor racing.
 
Neal Bascomb meticulously researches the historical events, providing readers with a vivid portrayal of the era, the characters, and the thrilling race itself. The narrative captures the high stakes, the risks taken, and the triumphs and setbacks faced by the protagonists.
 
Through the story of the Pau Grand Prix, “Faster” sheds light on broader themes of resistance, courage, and the power of sport to transcend political boundaries. It highlights how a shared passion for racing can unite people from different backgrounds and nationalities in a common cause.
 
Overall, “Faster: How a Jewish Driver, an American Heiress, and a Legendary Car Beat Hitler’s Best” is a captivating account of an extraordinary motor race and the individuals who defied the odds to challenge Nazi dominance. It offers an intriguing blend of history, sports, and personal narratives, making it an engaging read for enthusiasts of motorsports and World War II history alike.
 
Faster is also a gripping story of triumph against adversity. It is also a reminder of the importance of sportsmanship and fair play, even in the face of hatred and discrimination. The book has been praised by critics for its well-researched narrative and its vivid portrayal of the golden age of auto racing. Bringing to life this glamorous era and the sport that defined it, Faster chronicles one of the most inspiring, death-defying upsets of all time: a symbolic blow against the Nazis during history’s darkest hour.
 
——————————————————–
About the Author :
 
Neal Bascomb is the author of ten award-winning, national, and international bestselling books, including most recently FASTER, a tale of the greatest upset in motorsports history. He is also a critically acclaimed young adult writer. His book NAZI HUNTERS (Scholastic) won the YALSA Non-fiction Award for young adults, as well as a number of other national and state-level awards. Also from Scholastic, SABOTAGE and THE GRAND ESCAPE were breakout hits. A former international journalist and book editor, he has also written for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Los Angeles Times. He lives in Philadelphia with his family.
 
Bascomb is also the creator of the popular newsletter WorkCraft/Life Illuminating stories of people and the work they do. One feature profile, once a week, that will inspire, inform, infuriate, or just make you say wow.
[ --- Read more --- ]
You've just added this product to the cart: